Joining the Electoral Roll

Membership of the Priory Church is based on the Electoral Roll, and gives you, among other things, the right to take part in electing the PCC and Churchwardens. If you are over 16, baptised, resident in the parish or habitually worshipping here, you will qualify to be entered onto the Roll. Please contact the Parish Office for an enrolment form, or you can download one here and send it to the Parish Office or hand it in at church. More information is available by clicking this link

Our Charities

• The Parochial Church Council of Great St Bartholomew (Registered Charity No. 1163024) is run by the elected PCC (Parochial Church Council) & church officers and exists to promote the whole work of the church.

• The St Bartholomew the Great Heritage Trust (Registered Charity No. 283623) is run by a board of Trustees independent of the PCC. It exists to maintain, preserve and improve the fabric, ornaments, furniture and monuments of the church. It is not itself a religious charity.


For an explanation of what Churchwardens do, please click here. This will open a page on the website of the Diocese of London.

The election of Churchwardens takes place in our parish each year in April. All those on the Electoral Roll of the Parish of Great St Bartholomew – whether residents of the parish or not – together with all those who are resident in the Parish and also on the register of local government electors – irrespective of faith or affiliation (including none) – are entitled to vote in this election. Nomination forms, which must be handed to the Chair of the meeting (usually the Rector) before the meeting begins, are available from the Parish Office, or by downloading the form by clicking here. The nomination form must be signed as indicated, and the original must be provided – scans are not legally acceptable.

The election of Churchwardens takes place in a special meeting held for the purpose. It may take place before or after an Annual Parochial Church Meeting (APCM), but is a separate meeting, with a slightly different electorate involved.

Parochial Church Council (PCC)

The PCC is the goverening body of the Parish, and in particular, is reponsible for its finances, as well as for working with the incumbent to manage the affairs of the Parish and its buildings. The incumbent is responsible for the services that take place in the churches and for the pastoral work of the church, but may consult the PCC about any aspects of these responsibilities that the incumbent considers appropriate.

Election to the PCC

There are two ways to be elected to the PCC: either directly, or as one of the parish's representatives on the Deanery Synod, who are ex officio members of the PCC. Please note, if you are elected to the Deanery Synod, you should be willing to attend its meetings as well as those of the PCC, and to report back to the PCC on what happens at those meetings.

Both PCC members and Deanery Synod representatives are elected at the Annual Parochial Church Meeting. If you are considering standing for election, you should meet the following requirements:
have been on the Electoral Roll for at least 6 months;
be over 16 years of age;
been confirmed, and received communion at least three times in the previous year.

If you meet the above criteria, nominations forms for both the PCC and the Deanery Synod can be obtained from either one of the sidesmen on duty or can be downloaded here:

  • Click here to download a nomination form for a PCC member
  • Click here to download a nomination form for a member of Deanery Synod
  • The dates and official announcements of the Annual Parochial Church Meeting, and the elections that take place each year at it, are always posted on the noticeboards of our church buildings, are listed in the weekly notice sheets and e-bulletins, and in the weekly diary section of this website.

    The PCC and its Committees – 2018/2019

    Ex Officio PCC Members Reason (End of Term)
    Fr Marcus Walker (The Rector)
    Karen Falkner* (PCC Secretary & Children's Champion) Deanery Synod (2020)
    Ann Jones* Deanery Synod (2020)
    Sarah Kelsey* (Treasurer) Deanery Synod (2020)
    Roy Sully Deanery Synod (2020)
    Nicholas Riddle* Churchwarden (2019)
    Zoë McMillan* Churchwarden (2019)

    Elected PCC Members

    End of Term
    Iain Bailey 2019
    Tracey Braddick (Data Compliance Officer) 2021
    Christin Cockerton*
    Ruth Gibbs (Church Safeguarding Officer) 2019
    Michael Jones (DBS Checker) 2021
    Ian Kelly
    Christian Moon (Electoral Roll Officer) 2021
    Jane Morgan 2019
    Lilian Reid* (Lay Chair) 2020
    Nigel Reid (Fire, Health & Safety Officer) 2019
    Marc Sidwell (co-opted until 2019)
    Paul Simmons 2020
    Graham Wallace 2020
    PCC Attendees Responsibilities
    Martin Peck PCC Minute Secretary
    & Children's Champion

    * = Members of the Standing Committee

    Committees of the PCC
    The Rector is an ex officio member of all PCC committees,
    but not a member of the Employment Panel

    Fundraising & Sustainability
    Christian Moon
    Graham Wallace
    Michael Jones
    Nicholas Riddle
    Sarah Kelsey
    Tracey Braddick

    Music & Events Committee
    Christin Cockerton
    Iain Bailey
    Jane Morgan
    Mark Sidwell
    Nicholas Riddle
    Ruth Gibbs

    Employment Panel
    Ann Jones
    Iain Bailey
    Lilian Reid
    Ruth Gibbs
    Zoë McMillan

    Mission & Outreach
    Karen Falkner
    Mark Sidwell
    Paul Simmons
    Tracey Braddick

    900th Anniversary
    Christian Moon
    Ian Kelly
    Karen Falkner
    Nicholas Riddle
    Tracey Braddick

    Mission Action Plan 2016–2021

    Click here to see the PCC's Mission Action Plan 2016–2021 v.1